Media Innovation Council

The IABs’ Media Innovation Council keeps a roving eye on all things Innovation across the Media landscape. The Council is responsible for education around media trends and latest global innovation across all channels that are likely to impact the South African digital landscape.

Aggregating these exciting developments for IAB SA ensures members benefit from insights into these topics. And where possible, we take a deeper dive in the form of local workshops, courses and events.

We aim to increase Member awareness of media innovation, invite them to proactively participate in this growth and share their experiences.

We seek to leverage international partnerships with big names in the industry to assist in building this knowledge and best practice.

Launched in 2015, the portfolio functions with a primary remit of engaging publishers and agencies alike in the discussion around programmatic media buying, and furthermore, the topic of the private marketplace/publisher Co-op for South African publishers.

The Cape Town Programmatic Summit is the highlight for this council, it was established in 2015 and has become a calendar fixture which we hope to extend to Johannesburg in 2018.

Read more about programmatic digital advertising.

Council members

Head: Mike Carter – (special projects director at MaxAxion)
Matthew Arnold – Head of Media at NATIVE VML
Allan Kent – Head of Digital at Primed Broadcasting
Uno de Waal – MD & Founder at 5TUDIO and
Garth Rhoda – Managing Director & Partner of Detonator Media
Jaco Lintvelt – Head of Amnet Sub Saharan Africa
Tasmin Kingma – Head of Programmatic Buying DQ&A Media Group
Alisha Niven – Head of Digital at Mindshare
Cherise Rogers – Head of Digital at Mindshare
Nicola van der Meulen – Head of Digital Media at Aqua Agency
Brad Page – Managing Partner at Neo@Ogilvy
Kelly Walden – Digital Marketing Manager at adidas
Federico Dede – Head of MediaCom Beyond Advertising